Fried Meat Dumplings

Dumplings are a delicacy in Tibetan cuisine.  My family makes momos or Tibetan dumplings for the Tibetan New Year and other occasions.  They are made with a white flour outer wrapper stuffed with seasoned and spiced meat.  I experimented with various versions of gluten free wrapper until I found one that I deem the perfect outer wrapper.  The smell of the dumplings frying trumps the smell of steamed dumplings so that besides the smell, my family is tantalized by the chewy crispness of the wrapper.  I haven’t found a dumpling wrapper recipe that steams well yet so if you know of one, please do share it with me.

They are not as caloric as they sound.  I use a Calphalon non-stick pan with a little oil in the bottom,   As the dumplings fry, the beef releases its own fat and juices so that the wrapper crisps well without the addition of a lot of oil.

I usually use ground beef but you can substitute pork if you like.  The meat can be made with more or less spices and herbs, as your taste dictates.  I’ll give my recipe below with estimates on the spices.  I use what I have on hand so sometimes I may not even use cilantro.

Spiced Ground Beef

1 pound ground beef (80/20 mixture)

1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic

1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger

4 green onion, finely cut

cilantro, finely cut

salt and pepper to taste
Gluten Free Dumpling Wrapper

1 cup white rice flour

3/4 cup tapioca flour

pinch of salt

2 Tablespoons olive oil

2/3 cup warm water

Mix all ingredients, adding water slowly and as needed until a soft dough forms.  Divide dough into 14 – 18 portions and form into balls.  Flatten a ball between 2 sheets of plastic wrap.  Put a spoonful of meat on one side of the wrapper.  Fold in half and seal.  Set aside until all the dumplings are made.

Heat a Calphalon pan over medium heat.  Add about 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Add the dumplings leaving enough room so that they do not touch.  Cover and let fry about 5 minutes or until brown.  Turn over the dumplings, cover and fry an additional 5 minutes.  Its usually note necessary to add more oil as the meat releases its own oil and juices.

Makes 4 -18 dumplings.

Leave a comment