My Mom’s Carrot Cake

Carrot cake is my farovite and I remember making the cake with my Mom when I was about 10 or 11. It was a favorite among my family too so we made it often. Forty some odd years later I still make the cake from the recipe that my Mom penned with her own hand. The paper is yellowed and stained in some spots but the recipe and the memories it brings back are precious

I’ve adapted the recipe to be gluten free and its another one of those recipes that works very well because of the fruit and the carrots that it holds. It can be made as sheet cake, in a bundt pan, or as a 2 layer cake.

My Mom’s Carrot Cake

3 cups Gluten Free Flour Blend
2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons xanthan gum
10 ounce can crushed pineapple, drained and syrup reserved
4 eggs at room temperature, beaten
1 cup olive oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups grated raw carrots, loosely packed
1 cup chopped walnute or pecans (optional)
Combine flour and next 5 ingredients, mixing well. Drain pineapple, saving syrup, set aside. Make a well in center of dry ingredients; add pineapple syrup, eggs, oil and vanilla, blen throughly, stir in pineapple, carrots, and nuts. Turn into 2 greased loaf pans Bake in 325 degree oven for one hour hour or a long wooden pick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool 5 minutes and turn out onto a rack to cool completely.
Sheet cakes and bundt cakes bake for approximately hone hour. Two nine inch cake pans requires approximately 45 minutes.

Frost or glaze cake as desired.

2015-07-01 21.24.002015-07-09 17.20.16

Leave a comment